Personal tools
You are here: Home About Census Data New, Consolidated and Discontinued Cities

New, Consolidated and Discontinued Cities

Iowa Authority

The City Development Board (CDP) in the Iowa Department of Economic Development has authority to act on petitions for municipal boundary changes including:

  • Annexation (addition of territory to a city)
  • Severance (deletion of territory from a city)
  • Consolidation (combining of two or more cities into one city)
  • Discontinuance (termination of a city)
  • Incorporation (establishment of a new city)


Changes in the legal status of Iowa municipalities since 1980:

  • New Incorporations
    • Maharishi Vedic City (Jefferson County, 2001)
    • Westwood (Henry County, 1982)
  • Consolidations
    • Melcher-Dallas (Marion County, 1986)
  • Discontinuances
    • Athelstan (Taylor County, 2004)
    • Donnan (Fayette County, 1991)
    • Green Island (Jackson County, 1993)
    • Hurstville (Jackson County, 1985)
    • Kent (Union County, 2003)
    • Littleport (Clayton, 2005)
    • Moneta (O'Brien County, 1999)
    • Oneida (Delaware County, 1994)
    • Plain View (Scott County, 1987)

More Information

For more information about the City Development Board, see:

Document Actions
last modified Jan 01, 2009 08:22 PM